Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Finding the hara

Finding the hara 26 May 2015 08:23 #98950

In practicing with shikantaza, one of the things that comes up is breathing into your hara. I remember being puzzled about this early in my meditation practice, when I was in my DIY-Zen phase. There never seemed to be a lot written about what this point in the body is, and how to breath "into" it. In some Reggie Ray stuff I am listening to, he at least explains why that is: Zen/C'han is essentially a Buddhist container for Taoism, and in Taoism the hara (or dantien) was already well-known. So it didn't need explaining.

Great, but doesn't help.

So I am looking for practical tips on how to feel or locate this space. I am not very good at visualization, and that might be my stumbling block but, then again, for a somatic practice I ought to be able to feel my way around.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Finding the hara 26 May 2015 09:23 #98952

masamicovey.com/Zenshin%20Defined/hara-body-center

www.interluderetreat.com/meditate/hara.htm

Maybe one of those will help. I have a feeling that there's a cultural problem for us, having to do with wanting a muscular armor over our bellies and the sense of control over our emotions that gives. I'll bet deep, racking sobs come directly from the the hara.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Tom Otvos, Jake St. Onge

Finding the hara 26 May 2015 12:05 #98953

Energetically, when you are relaxed and breathing from your belly... it's that feeling/place in the middle of the swelling (a little below the belly button a little in front of the spine). It doesn't need to be found as a "thing" but rather a point/center around which everything occurs. When you are excited the sense of breathing tends to go to the chest, but when you are relaxed it's low in the belly.