If this site provides value to you and your practice, please consider donating a small amount to help with the hosting fees.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Distance learning

Distance learning 16 Nov 2013 11:41 #16468

I've been thinking about differences between on-line and in-person "sangha", and remembered when I studied programming at a local brick-&-mortar grad school that the courses were offered both on-campus and online, your choice. This school was one of the early adopters of "distance learning" and attracted lots of international students.

Since I was fortunate to live there, it seemed I should take advantage of the chance to go to the classes and interact with students and professors in person. But I often found that classes were scheduled in the evening after teacher and students had been at work all day, everyone was tired, few wanted to stick around, and instructors' body language said "let's get out of here."

By contrast, when I tried some courses online, I could picture the instructor in his/her bath robe, house slippers on the coffee table, with laptop and coffee. Less rushed, laid back, waxing elogquent. And student coloborations on online projects were more substantial. So I did almost the whole degree that way. Totally normal now, 15 years later.

Maybe I'm stuck in baby-boomer world view, but I've had the idea that in-person dharma-practice relationships are more substantial and better. It was an eye opener for me that DhO, KFD, AN, and skype interactions and relationships could be so rich and impactful. But I still felt compelled to seek out a local Buddhist group and teacher several months ago because I thought I was missing something maybe indespensable.