If this site provides value to you and your practice, please consider donating a small amount to help with the hosting fees.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Bill's Notes

Bill's Notes 17 Dec 2011 18:06 #85448

Hello,

I'm going to be putting my practice notes here from now on. For those who'd like some background info: kennethfolkdharma.wetpaint.com/thread/47...6/6th+Stage+Question

My current practice is to attempt to keep my awareness stable in the body at all times and note/ground mind states as they arise. I spoke with my teacher tonight about what he referred to as "working out the kinks after awakening" and this practice seems one among many that can be used to those ends. I started practicing this way tonight, At first there was some resistance when trying to bring the attention into the body, but the attention quickly settled in. I noted things like "happiness, fear, shame, remorse, calm, warmth, appreciation, sadness, etc." After some time the body and mind became very relaxed and the grounding seemed to be happening quickly. Then, seemingly out of nowhere, I got bumrushed by some anxiety. For several minutes, I was torn between being with the sensations and being compelled to analyze/think. Eventually the attention became sustained upon the sensations. The sensations still seemed to continue in much the same way as they would if there was a story beside them. Even without the story, it was uncomfortable and there was a lot of tension that died down the greater space I allowed for it. Tonight was a mixed bag. I seem to have hit the extremes of anxiety and peacefulness all in one night. I did notice however, there was a very natural warmth and appreciation when the attention was sustained in the body. Possibly it is being obscured by the pull of emotions/thoughts.
  • WF566163
The topic has been locked.

RE: Bill's Notes 18 Dec 2011 18:44 #85449