Ron's Practice Journal

• RonCrouch
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
11 years 2 weeks ago #56318 by RonCrouch
Ron's Practice Journal was created by RonCrouch
I've been practicing concentration meditation for about three years and have decided to begin vipassana to have a more balanced approach and maybe have some insights. Kenneth recommended that I post my practice journal, and I'd be happy to have the advice and feedback of anyone on the forum.

Today I sat for 30 minutes, focused on my abdomen and noted tension, pressure and softness. My mind did not wander as much as it normally does, and I quickly began to feel concentrated (with in a few minutes). I noted that a light began and became brighter, along with pleasant sensations that moved from the base of my neck to the top of my head. I noted that where the sensations moved toward, at the top of the head, the light seemed brighter and I noted that there was a sensation of pressure there. I felt tension in my face muscles around the right eye and temple, and noted the tension. This tension became my main focus for the remainder of the session because of how salient it was to me. I wanted to penetrate it and see it break down, mostly because it felt so solid. However, during the session it did not happen. Still, I felt like I was on the right track when I really zeroed in on that sensation and tried to "dig in" to see it a close as I could.